Personal Sunday: My Dads -Glittr

Posted on Updated on

image

Growing up my dad was never around. He never so much as went to the hospital when I born. I never even met the guy.

Don’t sit there feeling bad for me, because I did have a dad in my life. My Daddy is the man who raised me since I was about 2. I was a daddys girl growing up. I didn’t even know he wasn’t my biological father until I was 6 or 7 I think. I never gave much though to my biological father. I was curious but I had a dad so I was content.

When I was 9 my daddy cheated on my mom. Apparently he was at some bar and my mom showed up to suprise him. He was making out with some women. Me and my mom left to live with my grandparents. About a month later, my mom decided to forgive him. We moved back in (my grandmother hated this, she didn’t like my daddy at all). Things went ok until one night he told my mom he was leaving her. He left her for the same women he cheated on my mom with. I remember that night as one of the worst nights of my life. My mom was begging him to stay. I wanted so badly to stop him but me being a 9 year old, there wasn’t much I could do. I threw one of his belts on the ground. I wanted to be noticed but I was too scared to do any actual damage. After he left I just cried. I don’t really remember anything past that.

My daddy married the women he cheated with. They’re still together. I do still see my daddy. I’ve spent the night at his house a few times. I know what he did was wrong, but he’s my daddy. I call his stepkids brothers and sisters and I’m good with his wife, though I’ll never call her stepmom.

My mom tried dating for a little while. She had a steady boyfriend even that we lived with for a while, but he turned out to be a pedofile. My mom never dated after that.

When I was 13 I met my biological father. My mom found him online. Apparently I have 2 half brothers, a stepmom and stepsister. My dad is no longer married to the women. My brothers are 15 and 17 (almost). At first I was angry, so he wasn’t ready to be a dad for me, yet less than 2 years later he had another kid? Why did he not even bother to find me or at least check up on me? But I have long since forgiven him.

Sorry if I bored you guys.

XOXO
Glittr

Leave a Reply

